February 2017: Love Letters

Colossians 3:16

Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly, teaching and admonishing one another in all wisdom, singing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, with thankfulness in your hearts to God.

 

This Valentine’s day – the first Valentine’s day I’ve had a significant other – I found a little book full of sweet expressions of love. On each page I wrote reasons why I love my husband. I had a wonderful time writing it!

Writing love notes to my husband makes me ponder the reasons I wanted to marry him. No matter how I’m feeling, writing positive things about my husband always lightens my mood. It reminds me that I’m blessed and that there’s a lot to appreciate about the gorgeous hunk of man I married.

It moves my husband deeply whenever I write him a love letter. He doesn’t always feel appreciated as a pastor, so it means a great deal to him when I tell him I’m thankful for him.  I tell him that I love him several times a day, but he needs to know why I love him and that I have profound reasons based in Jesus. I want him to know I’m not giving him empty compliments merely to boost his ego.  Everyone needs sincere compliments, I think especially husbands.

We napped mostly through Valentine’s day, then in the evening we went for a walk together. Around midnight I went to brush my teeth, but Amith told me not to. He wouldn’t tell me why, but he took me into the living room I saw why! He and his friends had gotten me a dark chocolate cake and put two small green candles on it.

In Amith’s culture people will often start celebrating a birthday at midnight. When the birthday person cuts their cake, they’ll put the first piece into the mouth of their significant other.

When Amith and co. had sung happy birthday to me, I tried to blow out the candles.  But after a few times I found they had used prank candles which don’t blow out!  I laughed with them, but when I went to put cake in Amith’s mouth, I smeared it on his face.

He then smeared it on my face.

My husband gave me a tea mug which had this sweet message on it.

The following evening we had a lovely prayer service, but Amith and I left early to have a dinner date. Amith said that he felt he had done little for me, but I felt he treated me like a queen.  I’m so blessed to be married to a godly man!

Leave a Reply

