More Than Enough + No Coward Soul Is Mine

Numbers 18:20 

And the LORD said to Aaron, “You shall have no inheritance in their land, neither shall you have any portion among them. I am your portion and your inheritance among the people of Israel.

 

God opens blind eyes to speak His glory into the world.

So why hasn’t He healed me of my medical issue?  Why hasn’t He given me what I’ve asked Him for?  Why has He not made me able to conceive children?  Why has He not provided work for me?

The answer is this: God gives us what we need and removes what we don’t need. When we pray, we must not do it with our needs and desires in mind. We must pray in humility, submitting to God’s will, however it may differ from ours.  So often God denies us what we ask Him for in order to give us something more wonderful than we could ever imagined.

If God had answered my prayer as a teenager to become a missionary in Honduras, I would never have gone to Asia and met my wonderful husband.

 

Romans 2:4

Or do you presume on the riches of his kindness and forbearance and patience, not knowing that God’s kindness is meant to lead you to repentance?

Every blessing He pours out on us is for us to glorify Him with. His great desire is purely for us to turn to Him, so that we can be in relationship with Him.

God is much more than merely our provider. He Himself is our provision, our portion; He is everything a person needs.

 

Lamentations 3:22-27

The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases;
his mercies never come to an end;
they are new every morning;
great is your faithfulness.
“The Lord is my portion,” says my soul,
“therefore I will hope in him.”

The Lord is good to those who wait for him,
to the soul who seeks him.
It is good that one should wait quietly
for the salvation of the Lord.
It is good for a man that he bear
the yoke in his youth.

He created the universe and all words, spiritual and physical. He formed the earth and everything in it. He knows even our secret thought which we have never spoken out loud. His presence is too glorious for words.

Psalm 73:26

My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.

 

tumblr_o12n7m9UER1u5mdq1o1_500

 


No Coward Soul Is Mine

By Emily Brontë


No coward soul is mine

No trembler in the world’s storm-troubled sphere

I see Heaven’s glories shine

And Faith shines equal arming me from Fear


O God within my breast

Almighty ever-present Deity

Life, that in me hast rest,

As I Undying Life, have power in Thee


Vain are the thousand creeds

That move men’s hearts, unutterably vain,

Worthless as withered weeds

Or idlest froth amid the boundless main


To waken doubt in one

Holding so fast by thy infinity,

So surely anchored on

The steadfast rock of Immortality.


With wide-embracing love

Thy spirit animates eternal years

Pervades and broods above,

Changes, sustains, dissolves, creates and rears


Though earth and moon were gone

And suns and universes ceased to be

And Thou wert left alone

Every Existence would exist in thee


There is not room for Death

Nor atom that his might could render void

Since thou art Being and Breath

And what thou art may never be destroyed.


Read “Do You know God is Our Inheritance?

Leave a Reply

