I Forgot That He Loves Me

Last month was kind of tough for my family in the US.  Our antisocial 11-year-old wiener dog, Wendy, was always misbehaving and no one enjoyed her.  My mom has spoke of getting rid of her for some time.  The last straw was when she got the hamster’s ball open and killed my sister’s rodent.

My parents made up their mind that it was not wise to keep predatory animals and animals of prey under the same roof, so they sought their friends to see if anyone wanted an old, but otherwise healthy dachshund.  No one wanted her, as her personality was unappealing and she now had red on her ledger.

After a week my parents thought with a heavy heart that the only thing left to do would be to euthanize her.  As my mom was praying, she heard an inner voice say, “No.  Wendy shouldn’t be euthanized.”  My mom didn’t know if that was God speaking to her, or if that was just her own conscience feeling guilty about killing the dog.

My parents made an appointment with the vet.  Mom left my dad and Wendy in the car while she went inside to sign the necessary paperwork and pay the vet.  Then they took Wendy inside, and the vet was ready with his syringe to inject Wendy with the chemical which would put her to sleep for good.  Just then, an older woman cam in delivering newspapers.  She said to my mom,

“Are you putting your dog down?”

My mom answered, “Yes.”

“Is it because she’s sick?”

“No, she’s just old and misbehaved, and she killed my daughter’s hamster.”

The older lady said to my mom, “My partner wants a dachshund!  Can I take her?”

My mom said with surprise, “Well, she’s 11 years old.  She probably won’t live a lot longer.”

“That’s ok, we’re comfortable with older dogs.  And we don’t have any children, so we can manage her behavioral problems.”

And so my parents allowed the lady to put Wendy in her car and drive off.

 

Isaiah 53:3-4

He was despised and rejected by men, a man of sorrows and acquainted with grief; and as one from whom men hide their faces he was despised, and we esteemed him not. Surely he has borne our griefs and carried our sorrows; yet we esteemed him stricken, smitten by God, and afflicted.

I’d forgotten the extent of God’s love for me. He cares for all creatures, even animals. How much more does He care for us!

I’m not perfect. I’m sometimes too emotional.  Ok, a lot of times I’m too emotional. I get distracted by petty things. But God is faithful to draw me back to Him. He’ll do anything in within His power to bring us to himself as long as it doesn’t supersede our free will. He is a lover wooing us.

Our dog was just an animal, and a bad animal at that!  Yet God spared her life for His glory.  If He can show mercy to a disobedient dog, we should not be shy about confessing our sins and shortcomings to Him.  Our nature was corrupted by sin, but we have been made clean with the blood of Christ.

I hope you and your loved ones have a blessed Easter season as you remember the love of Him who shows us daily mercy.

 

Leave a Reply

